Skip to content

Compare · Side by side · 2026

Rug manufacturers and exporters in India, compared

Seven Indian rug makers, named side by side with the facts each states publicly: founding year, base, production model, export reach, certifications, network size and ordering terms. Listed by year founded, oldest first, using the founding year each company states on its own site. A company that does not state a founding year would be placed last. This is an ordering, not a ranking: we do not rank exporters. The base column shows which are in Bhadohi (the Bhadohi list is folded into this page because too few Bhadohi makers publish verifiable facts to justify a separate one).

A bright living room with a red patterned rug under a round coffee table and armchairs
Photo: Spacejoy / Unsplash

The companies, side by side

Ordering rule. Listed by year founded, oldest first, using the founding year each company states on its own site. A company that does not state a founding year would be placed last. This is an ordering, not a ranking: we do not rank exporters. All seven companies state a founding year.

Facts each company states publicly, with numbered sources. Last updated 22 October 2026.
CompanyFoundedBaseProduction modelExport reach (as stated)Certifications and memberships (as stated)Network size (as stated)Samples, MOQ, lead time (as stated)
Obeetee19201Mirzapur, Uttar Pradesh (stated origin); offices in Delhi and New York1Large artisan-network carpet maker with own retail and trade channelsNot publicly statedWoolmark licence for hand-knotted rugs (1969); SA8000 (2004)125,000 artisans2Not publicly stated
Raheem & Son19273Bhadohi, Uttar Pradesh; looms across the Bhadohi to Mirzapur belt4Manufacturer-exporter with in-house dyeing and finishing; also runs a disclosed buying-agency desk130+ countries3CEPC registration (the only standing affiliation); Four-Star Category Certificate, Directorate of Industries, Government of Uttar Pradesh: awarded 2009 (historic)51,400+ looms, 6,000+ weavers, 202,500 sq m a year (self-stated, unaudited)4Samples 25 to 35 days; bulk from about 60 days; no fixed minimum order6
Qaaleen19547Bhadohi roots; flagship store in New Delhi7,8Design-led carpet house with Delhi showrooms and Bhadohi weavingNot publicly statedNot publicly stated2,000+ weavers; 60,000 sq m capacity7Not publicly stated
Jaipur Rugs19789Rajasthan; weaving in villages across five states9Home-based artisan network with its own brand and design collaborations60+ countries9Not publicly stated1040,000 artisans in 600 villages9Not publicly stated
Sharda Exports (The Rug Republic)198311Meerut, Uttar Pradesh (head office)11Integrated manufacturer with its own branded range for retailers85 countries11GOTS or GRS norms; ISO 9001; ISO 14001; AVE social standard (DNV); OEKO-TEX (natural wool products)112 million sq ft integrated facility11Not publicly stated
Saraswati Global198612Began in Churu, Rajasthan; hand-knotted plant in Dharampur, Gujarat; stores including Jaipur12Integrated manufacturer serving retail, design and trade channels60+ countries13'ISO certified' (standard not named)1310,000+ skilled artisan network (company wording)13Not publicly stated
PiHue Creations202114Bhadohi, Uttar Pradesh14Bhadohi-based rug manufacturer focused on small and custom ordersNot publicly statedISO 9001:2015; GoodWeave; Responsible Wool Standard; OEKO-TEX; GRS; SMETA audit14'hundreds' of weavers (company wording)14Start with one rug; indicative sampling-plus-production windows: hand-knotted 45 to 90 days, hand-tufted 35 to 60, handloom or flatweave 35 to 45, braided 25 to 3015

Where a fact was not found on a public page the cell reads “Not publicly stated”. That does not mean the fact is untrue; the company may publish it elsewhere.

Notes on each company's published facts

  • Obeetee. States 25,000 artisans and an origin in 1920. Export country count and ordering terms were not stated on the pages we read.
  • Raheem & Son. Our own figures, unaudited. Obeetee and Jaipur Rugs state larger artisan networks, Obeetee states an earlier founding year, and Sharda Exports and PiHue Creations name more certifications.
  • Qaaleen. States 1954 and 2,000+ weavers. Names no certifications, export country count or ordering terms on the page we read.
  • Jaipur Rugs. States 40,000 artisans. The pages we read named no certifications in text. A press report mentions an OEKO-TEX Standard 100 certificate, which is not a statement on the company's own site, so it is not shown in the table.
  • Sharda Exports (The Rug Republic). Names the most certifications of the group and states 85 countries. Ordering terms were not stated on the page we read.
  • Saraswati Global. States 60+ countries and a 10,000+ artisan network. The site gives two different experience figures and names 'ISO certified' without the standard. Its page also notes a start in 1978; the 1986 date is the one it gives as 'founded'.
  • PiHue Creations. Publishes a start of one rug and indicative sampling-plus-production windows for four constructions (hand-knotted 45 to 90 days) and lists six certifications. It started in 2021 and names no export countries on the pages we read.

Qaaleen, PiHue and Raheem & Son manufacture in Bhadohi, the Bhadohi-Mirzapur hand-knotted cluster; Obeetee states a Mirzapur origin; the others weave elsewhere. See sourcing hubs compared.

Limits of this list

Facts come from public pages read on 22 October 2026. Pages change, some are partly images, and some companies publish more elsewhere. Raheem & Son’s own figures (130+ countries, 1,400+ looms, 6,000+ weavers) are self-stated and unaudited. Our only standing affiliation is CEPC registration; the Four-Star Category Certificate was awarded in 2009 and is historic, not current (see our standardsand every figure with its source). For the terms each company publishes, see MOQ, samples and lead time compared. To check any exporter yourself, use the buyer’s checklist. To request a sample, see the sample programme or request a bulk quote.

Corrections. If you represent a company named here and a fact is wrong or out of date, email sales@raheemandson.com with a public source. We will check it and correct the page.

Questions

Frequently asked

How are the companies on this page ordered?

By year founded, oldest first, using the founding year each company states on its own site. It is an ordering, not a ranking: we do not rank exporters, and no company is described as better than another.

Who publishes this comparison?

Raheem & Son, which is one of the seven companies listed. Every fact has a numbered public source and anything we could not find is shown as not publicly stated. Corrections are welcome at sales@raheemandson.com.

Which companies state more than Raheem & Son?

Obeetee states an earlier founding year and a larger artisan network, Jaipur Rugs states a larger artisan network, and Sharda Exports and PiHue Creations each name more certifications. The table shows those figures.

Does the order say anything about rug quality?

No. The order is only the year each company says it was founded. The table records what companies state publicly about themselves, not rug quality, price, design or service. Order samples before you choose a supplier.

Why is a company missing from the list?

We included companies whose facts we could verify from public pages on the date above. Companies whose pages were unavailable or inconsistent were left out rather than guessed. Tell us at sales@raheemandson.com if a company should be added, with a public source.

Sources

Each source below was fetched and re-read on the date shown. Anything we could not find on a public page is shown as not publicly stated, not guessed.

  1. Obeetee, legacy page (1920 Mirzapur; Woolmark licence 1969; SA8000 2004). Checked 22 October 2026. https://obeetee.in/pages/legacy
  2. Obeetee, home page (25,000 artisans, since 1920). Checked 22 October 2026. https://obeetee.com/
  3. Raheem & Son, Our story (founded 1927; fourth generation; CEPC founding heritage). Checked 22 October 2026. https://raheemandson.com/about
  4. Raheem & Son, Manufacturing (1,400+ looms, 6,000+ weavers, 202,500 sq m a year; self-stated). Checked 22 October 2026. https://raheemandson.com/manufacturing
  5. Raheem & Son, Our standards (CEPC registration is the only standing affiliation; Four-Star Category Certificate awarded 2009, historic; other certificates arranged per order). Checked 22 October 2026. https://raheemandson.com/our-standards
  6. Raheem & Son, How to order (samples 25 to 35 days; bulk from 60 days; no fixed minimum; 130+ countries, self-stated). Checked 22 October 2026. https://raheemandson.com/how-to-order
  7. Qaaleen, about us (1954; Bhadohi roots; 2000+ weavers; 60,000 sq m). Checked 22 October 2026. https://qaaleencarpets.com/pages/about-us
  8. Qaaleen, flagship store page (New Delhi address). Checked 22 October 2026. https://qaaleencarpets.com/pages/luxury-carpet-showroom-delhi
  9. Jaipur Rugs founder's site, about page (1978; 40,000 artisans; 600 villages; five states; over 60 countries). Checked 22 October 2026. https://www.nkchaudhary.com/about/
  10. Apparel Resources, 8 December 2022, Jaipur Rugs awarded OEKO-TEX Standard 100 (press report; not a statement on the company's own site). Checked 22 October 2026. https://apparelresources.com/business-news/sustainability/jaipur-rugs-awarded-standard-100-certification-oeko-tex/
  11. Sharda Exports, home page (1983; Meerut; 85 countries; certifications; 2 million sq ft). Checked 22 October 2026. https://www.shardaindia.com/
  12. Saraswati Global, about us (founded 1986; began 1978 in Churu; hand-knotted plant in Dharampur, Gujarat). Checked 22 October 2026. https://www.saraswatiglobal.com/about-us
  13. Saraswati Global, home page (60+ countries; 10,000+ artisan network; 'ISO certified'). Checked 22 October 2026. https://www.saraswatiglobal.com/
  14. PiHue Creations, about page (began 2021 in Bhadohi; certifications listed). Checked 22 October 2026. https://www.pihue.com/about
  15. PiHue Creations, FAQs (start with one rug; indicative sampling-plus-production windows by construction). Checked 22 October 2026. https://www.pihue.com/faqs