Skip to content

Compare · Published terms

What Indian rug exporters publish about MOQ, samples and lead time

Of the 7 Indian rug makers in our comparison, 2publish any ordering terms. Raheem & Son states no fixed minimum, samples in 25 to 35 days and bulk from 60 days;1 PiHue Creations says you can start with one rug and gives indicative windows of 45 to 90 days for hand-knotted.2 The other 5 do not state these terms on the pages we read, so ask.

A sunlit bedroom with a round woven rug on a pale wood floor
Photo: Clay Banks / Unsplash

The published terms, company by company

Ordering rule. Listed by year founded, oldest first, using the founding year each company states on its own site. A company that does not state a founding year would be placed last. This is an ordering, not a ranking: we do not rank exporters. Published by Raheem & Son, which is included. Each cell quotes only what the company states on its own public pages, checked on 22 October 2026; where nothing was found the cell reads “Not publicly stated”.

Minimum order, sample and lead-time terms as each company publishes them, listed oldest first. Checked 22 October 2026.
CompanyFounded (as stated)Minimum order, samples and lead time (as stated)
Obeetee19203Not publicly stated
Raheem & Son19274Samples 25 to 35 days; bulk from about 60 days; no fixed minimum order1
Qaaleen19545Not publicly stated
Jaipur Rugs19786Not publicly stated
Sharda Exports (The Rug Republic)19837Not publicly stated
Saraswati Global19868Not publicly stated
PiHue Creations20219Start with one rug; indicative sampling-plus-production windows: hand-knotted 45 to 90 days, hand-tufted 35 to 60, handloom or flatweave 35 to 45, braided 25 to 302

2 of the 7publish terms; that is a finding about disclosure, not about the companies’ real terms. A company that does not publish a minimum may still quote one the same day. Raheem & Son’s position in the list comes from its stated founding year (1927), not from its terms.

What 'not publicly stated' means, and how to ask

“Not publicly stated” means we read the company’s own pages on the date above and did not find the term. It is not a criticism and not a guess: many exporters quote terms only on enquiry, because minimums depend on construction, size and colourways. Ask in writing, and ask for the answer on the proforma invoice so it becomes part of the order.

What 'no fixed minimum' means at Raheem & Son

We do not publish a fixed minimum order quantity because it varies by product type, construction, material, size and level of customisation; we confirm what applies when you send your requirements.1 Sampling and strike-offs typically take 25 to 35 days, bulk production starts from 60 days and depends on order size, construction and current production load, and pricing is quoted to specification. See how to order and the sample programme.

Five questions that get a real answer from any exporter

  1. What is the minimum per design, per colourway and per size, not just per order?
  2. How long does a sample or strike-off take, what does it cost, and is the charge credited against bulk?
  3. How long does bulk take from sample approval, for my construction and quantity?
  4. What can change that lead time (colours, size, season, other orders on the looms), and how will I be told?
  5. Will you put all four answers in writing on the proforma invoice?

Use them alongside the buyer’s checklist. For the reasoning behind sample orders and minimums, read MOQ vs sample orders and custom rug MOQ and lead times. Ready to ask us? Request a bulk quote. All comparisons: compare.

Corrections. If you represent a company named here and a fact is wrong or out of date, email sales@raheemandson.com with a public source. We will check it and correct the page.

Questions

Frequently asked

What is the typical MOQ for rugs from India?

There is no single figure. Of the 7 Indian rug makers in our comparison, 2 publish ordering terms: Raheem & Son states no fixed minimum, and PiHue Creations says you can start with one rug. The other 5 do not state a minimum on the pages we read, so ask each supplier for its minimum per design and per colourway.

How long do rug samples take from an Indian exporter?

Raheem & Son states 25 to 35 days for a sample or strike-off. PiHue Creations publishes combined sampling-plus-production windows rather than a separate sample time. The other companies in our comparison do not state a sample time on the pages we read.

How long does a custom hand-knotted rug order take?

Raheem & Son states bulk from 60 days after sample approval, depending on order size, construction and production load. PiHue Creations states an indicative 45 to 90 days for hand-knotted, sampling included. Treat both as indicative and get your own date in writing.

What does 'not publicly stated' mean?

It means we did not find the term on the company's own public pages on the date we checked. It does not mean the company has no minimum or no lead time; it means you have to ask. We do not estimate terms that a company has not published.

What does 'no fixed minimum' mean in practice?

At Raheem & Son it means the minimum is not one published number: it depends on product type, construction, material, size and customisation, and is confirmed for your project when you enquire. Sampling is always available before a production commitment, and pricing is quoted to specification.

Sources

Each source below was fetched and re-read on the date shown. Anything we could not find on a public page is shown as not publicly stated, not guessed.

  1. Raheem & Son, How to order (samples 25 to 35 days; bulk from 60 days; no fixed minimum; 130+ countries, self-stated). Checked 22 October 2026. https://raheemandson.com/how-to-order
  2. PiHue Creations, FAQs (start with one rug; indicative sampling-plus-production windows by construction). Checked 22 October 2026. https://www.pihue.com/faqs
  3. Obeetee, legacy page (1920 Mirzapur; Woolmark licence 1969; SA8000 2004). Checked 22 October 2026. https://obeetee.in/pages/legacy
  4. Raheem & Son, Our story (founded 1927; fourth generation; CEPC founding heritage). Checked 22 October 2026. https://raheemandson.com/about
  5. Qaaleen, about us (1954; Bhadohi roots; 2000+ weavers; 60,000 sq m). Checked 22 October 2026. https://qaaleencarpets.com/pages/about-us
  6. Jaipur Rugs founder's site, about page (1978; 40,000 artisans; 600 villages; five states; over 60 countries). Checked 22 October 2026. https://www.nkchaudhary.com/about/
  7. Sharda Exports, home page (1983; Meerut; 85 countries; certifications; 2 million sq ft). Checked 22 October 2026. https://www.shardaindia.com/
  8. Saraswati Global, about us (founded 1986; began 1978 in Churu; hand-knotted plant in Dharampur, Gujarat). Checked 22 October 2026. https://www.saraswatiglobal.com/about-us
  9. PiHue Creations, about page (began 2021 in Bhadohi; certifications listed). Checked 22 October 2026. https://www.pihue.com/about